SAE International Honors DTS Director Steve Moss

Diversified Technical Systems (DTS) is proud to announce that SAE International has honored Steve Moss – DTS Director of ATD Systems – with the 2017 James M. Crawford Technical Standards Board Outstanding Achievement Award.

The award recognizes individuals for outstanding service in the technical committee activities of the Society. This includes valuable contributions to the work of SAE International technical committees, unusual leadership in the activities of an SAE International technical committee, significant contributions as a representative of the Society to the accomplishments of technical committees of other organizations or of government agencies, and outstanding contributions to SAE International technical committee work in the form of research, test methods and procedures, and/or development of standards.

The James M. Crawford Fund was established in 1953 and honors James Crawford, who was SAE International President in 1945. In 2013, the award previously known as the Technical Standards Board Outstanding Achievement Award, was renamed the James M. Crawford Technical Standards Board Outstanding Achievement Award.

 Mr. Moss was born and educated in the United Kingdom and received a BSME from University of Hertfordshire in 1977. He worked as an automotive engineer at Rover UK, and GM and Ford in Detroit in the occupant safety and crash test and analysis fields for 15 years. Mr. Moss was the Technical Director at First Technology Safety Systems (now Humanetics ATD) from 1995 to 2005 in charge of crash dummy development. He now works for DTS in the Novi, Michigan office and is in charge of the WIAMan underbody blast dummy development, a project for the U.S. Army. He is an active member of several SAE and ISO Standards Committees, including the Safety Test Instrumentation Standards Committee for over twenty years. Moss has previously received the SAE International Ralph H. Isbrandt Automotive Safety Engineering Award.